A ‘punky’ gift for a funky friend!

Howdy folks, I hope you had a nice weekend! My husband was on an organizing tear yesterday, he cleared surfaces, assembled shelves, moved stuff around in the basement {not touching my craft-cave of course!} and really made some progress in the house! I decided I am not going to be the “slacker housewife” today and finish up some of the projects that he started. I had the kids put their post-Christmas nightmare of a bedroom(s) in order and my son did such a good job that I offered to sew him some new curtains for his closet (I went on a kick many years ago and removed all of the luan sliding closet doors from the bedrooms-that’s why all of the surfaces in my craft room are made from doors!) He had Thomas the Train curtains that I made him when he was 3…he’s 10 now…ah, definitely time for a change, we went with desert camo, DS and I picked out fabric and I sewed him the curtains and a bolster pillow (perhaps the only camouflage bolster pillow in the world) last night…well, maybe I’m not a slacker housewife after all LOL! 😀 OK you are not here to learn about my prowess as a homemaker, you wanna see some crafty goodness…well, here is a gift set I made for a friend for Christmas:

DCF 1.0

This is an “activity” gift, you see my friend claims that she is not crafty BUT she likes to send handmade cards so I made her a kit so she can make 3 thank you cards and 3 birthday ones.

DCF 1.0

First take a card base and glue on an embossed panel…

DCF 1.0

Then add a sentiment…

DCF 1.0

And a few fancy bits (AKA embellishments) and write your message on the inside of the card and place it in the matching envie!

DCF 1.0

Look, it all fits in the altered box that I created for, and had published in, Just Steampunk 2 magazine:

DCF 1.0

Easy peasy! I know some of you will want to know what I used so here is a list:

Sentiment stamps: Stampin Up

Steampunk Stamps: Inkadinkado (Clear set)

Embossing folders: Sizzix (there might be a Cuttlebug one in there too but I no longer buy products from ProvoCraft-they are on my list!)

Ink: Tim Holtz Distress ink in Vintage Photo, Wild Honey and Broken China

Dies: Spellbinders

Oh, and here is the tag I put on the gift, the build-an-ornament stamp is from Oriental Trading, it is one of their $4 sets.

DCF 1.0

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

18 thoughts on “A ‘punky’ gift for a funky friend!

  1. WHOA!!!! Who was the lucky recipient of -THAT- awesome gift? It is AMAZING. And there was less warfare once I promised over all the assembled/written cards… 🙂

    Like

  2. Another great project, Lindsay! Thanks for sharing. May I ask why Provo Craft is on your list and what that list is?

    Thanks again!
    Peace & blessings,
    Marie

    Like

    1. that would be the “naughty” list, Provo craft owns Cricut, they bullied small companies like Craft Edge out of the market, fired half of their customer service employees and have been making their machines cheaper and lower quality. I have a Cricut and Craft Edge’s SCAL software to run it, Craft edge broke no law making the software (infact I would not have gotten a Cricut if SCAL was not around-same with many others) but other, less reputable companies came out with cricut compatible software and they sued them and once they got the other companies to settle they went after craft edge too. The fact they did that, made crappier machines and then let go of most of their support team (that were really needed with the new crap machines) made me lose respect for the company and refuse to support them any more. This all seemed to coincide with ProvoCraft being bought by Bank of America. I can vote with my dollar at least:) They are not the only game in town!

      Like

  3. Lindsay, This is an amazingly beautiful set. And if the card parts weren’t enough, what a fabulous container! Ya Done Good! Thank you for sharing the inspiration… once again
    AND thanks for the info about Cricut. I haven’t purchased a machine yet, but this helps me know to look elsewhere when I do.

    Like

  4. Fabu gift set…..anyone, crafter or not, would have fun with it!!!!
    Looking forward to meeting you in person Lindsay at CHA…don’t forget to drop by the ‘Cheery Lynn Designs’ booth to say Hi…pretty please!
    Paper Hugs,
    Jan

    Like

  5. What an excellent idea, Lindsay! I made some cards for a friend, but next time, I’ll let her choose her own sentiments and backgrounds!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Carmen L

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.