Raid Your Husband’s Tool box!

Or do some crafty-stash shopping at the hardware store! Last month I was helping some of my friends’¬†older daughters achieve their Junior Girl Scout jewelry badge and one of the tasks they had to complete was working with wire and another was to use a “found object” to make jewelry with. I had a few big washers in my stash and lots of wire so two-birds, one-stone I thought. I showed the girls how to make the pendants and they were happy as larks!

DCF 1.0

After I got home I asked hubby if he had any washers he didn’t need and he said that he only has some small ones but I was welcome to them! Score! Earrings!

DCF 1.0

I used a heavy gauge wire to do my first wrapping on the pendent and to make the hanging loop (I was afraid a thinner wire might break) then I used colored Artistic Wire to add color and string on beads. It was fun, easy and cute. Perfect to instill the love of jewelry making in a child. I feel like a role model!

DCF 1.0

Have a great Sunday everyone. We will be putting up the Christmas tree (OK moving the Christmas tree that I assemble a month ago in the kitchen after I got it to make sure the lights worked) and decorating. We are even getting ambitious this year and putting decorations outside. I know, fancy right! Maybe I’ll share a picture tomorrow, I must warn you that I have no knack whatsoever for holiday decorating but luckily my kids do…maybe I can find an idea on Pinterest…no wait, if I go on Pintrest now I won’t get anything done today LOL! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,771 other followers

