Christmas is almost here {relax}

My Christmas shopping was officially done yesterday.  I have to say that I have never been more relaxed about an impending Christmas. I have been kicking back and enjoying time with my kids, volunteering to do crafts with the kids at school and the library and just having fun. Let’s do more of that Okay?  So, the other night I picked up a skein of yarn and some knitting needles and decided to make a dishcloth. I figured it would make a nice last-minute gift and after all I enjoy knitting. Plus it would be a good way to get back into practice after a long hiatus.  After the dish/wash cloth was complete I thought it would be nice paired with some homemade soap:

 

Here’s how to make a dishcloth {the easy-I haven’t knitted in over a year method} you will need a ball of cotton yarn {I used Lily Sugar & Cream, it is $1-$2 a ball} and a pair of US#8 size needles.

Cast on 35 stitches. knit every row until 7″ long {or square} and bind off.

I have several colors of cotton yarn on hand because it makes nice {and quick} baby booties and bath mitts as well as dish cloths and it is very inexpensive.
Another quick gift you can make is lemon hand scrub and you can make it by the jar. Simply fill a jar 3/4 full with sugar. Fill to just above the sugar with oil {olive or soybean} and stir. Add more oil if it is dry. Then add 1-3 Tbs of lemon juice and you can grate in some zest if you like for extra lemon smell. Stir and screw on a lid. Be sure to package this upright so it does not leak. To use you simply place a tablespoon of sugar scrub in your hands and scrub and rinse. It is heaven for dry hands and does a great job of removing stamping ink too!

 

If you run out of small gift bags try this! Simply take a kraft lunch bag and trim of the top with fancy scissors then cover the front with pattern paper. Insert your gift and fold over the top and punch a couple of holes and tie on a bow. Pretty cool and zero stress!

 

These quick and simple gifts are great to have on hand for when a friend comes to call. They are not fancy but they are useful and they show you care and that is one of the best messages of Christmas.

Happy Holidays to you and til next time happy crafting! ~Merry Christmas!!!~

2 Responses

  1. Hi Lindsay, love your lovely little gift ideas and so did my daughter, so I have signed her up too, so that she can be updated when you do a new post.

    Merry Christmas to you and your family,

    Hugs,

    Like

  2. Merry Christmas Lindsay! I love your recipe for the Lemon sugar scrub! The dish cloth is beautiful too.

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,709 other followers

