Batik Snowflake Christmas Cards

Do you ever get inspired by a stamp set? I took on one look at the huge snowflakes in this Tattered Angles Winter stamp set and thought “Batik Snowflakes!” The look is loose, messy, artistic and I just love the way they turned out:

 

I used a couple of methods to make these cards:

  1. Stamp Watercolor paper with clear ink and heat emboss with clear embossing powder. Wet the paper with water, then paint ultramarine and mauve watercolor paint loosely over and let dry.
  2. I also tried the above method with cardstock.
  3. Paint directly on he stamp with ultramarine and mauve watercolor paint and stamp repeatedly on a sheet of white cardstock then randomly flick the same colors of paint on the sheet.

So after I prepared 3 standard size sheets of paper like this I cut the papers up into quarters and made my set of cards! I also used the watercolor paints to dye the seam binding I added. I used eyelets to secure the watercolored panels to the cardbases. This is a fun technique to try if you need to loosen up a bit in your crafting!

TIP: Save the non-stick backing that comes on the back of contact paper (shelf liner) to protect your work surface when you do messy projects. I like it better than my non-stick craft mat and if it gets too nasty you can simply throw it away!

Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,461 other followers

