Let’s hear it for the BUOYS!

Oh, I do love a good pun;) I was commissioned (well, la-dee-da don’t  I sound all artsy-fartsy!) to paint some lobster buoys this summer by a friend. She wanted me to paint a Santa on one and on the other some wording.

I used my die cutter and SCAL software to cut the letters out of gold vinyl after painting the buoy red. For Santa I drew an oval for the face and painted it peach and painted the rest of the buoy red (two coats) then I painted the black belt and white beard. Details on the face were added after the beard and hat fluff had dried. I used acrylic paint for this project and real lobster buoys. The buoys are made out of foam and really easy to paint on-no prep required!

So, if you are looking for an inexpensive Christmas gift of a craft fair item to make and sell why not paint a buoy? Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

10 thoughts on “Let’s hear it for the BUOYS!

  1. Really nice. I am hoping to achieve almost the same with large coffee creamer containers. Not really sure it will work but I am gonna try. I can’t paint so I figure felt or fabric will be good for the clothes.
    Love your crats. Thanks for sharing.
    Glenda

    Like

  2. WOW! I’ve had a buoy like that for many years. I’ve always wanted to do something with it, but I never really knew what to do with it. This is a great idea, and I’m going to try it 🙂

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.