Fast & Frugal: A vintage card {made with scraps!}

Happy Friday! I can’t wait for the weekend, I am taking my girls on their first Daisy Scout Camp Out (to be honest, my first camp-out too not counting tenting in the back yard-wish me luck!) on Saturday then on Sunday we are hosting a cookout in honor of a few close together birthdays in the family {mine is Sunday, boy it comes quicker every year!} Here is a card I made for my Mother-in-Law who is also celebrating a birthday:

 

The card base is kraft cardstock. I used wrapping paper {saved from an early b-day present from my sister} as the background. I ran the wrapping paper through my BigShot on a fiskars texture plate for a soft emboss and inked the edges with brown staz-on as I was afraid regular ink would not dry on the pearlized glossy wrapping paper. I stamped on a leftover scalloped oval die cut left over from the batch of baby cards I made Wednesday and punched some ribbon slots on the side to thread some seam binding through (PS I got a 100 yard roll of that color from the closeout bin at sewtrue.com for $3, they got another shipment of the closeout hug snug in and the price went up a bit but it is still 50% off regular price!)

 

To make the double bow I tied a regular bow then tied another bow right on top! How easy is that!?! Then I made my own matching stick pins using 1.5″ strait pins and beads and poked them right through the know. The Dress form is from the Sewing Bits SVG set from Lindsay’s Stamp Stuff, I had cut it a while back and it was just laying on my scrap-pile with some embosslet buttons (whenever I have a scrap of cardstock 2″x2″ I die cut a set of these buttons. I got the embossing die from Stampin Up’, a splurge at $12 but I use it all the time!) Oh and I added a scrap of lace to the dress from to make a scarf and skirt.

Since this card is a bit oddly sized due to the dress form poking out I will place it in a clear envelope and attach it to her gift as a tag and card all in one! Here is a look at the Sewing bits SVG set I used to cut the dress form:

 

Thanks for stopping by, have a great weekend and til next time happy crafting!

4 Responses

  1. Love this Lindsay sure your MIL will too! Have a wonderful weekend and Birthday.

    Like

  2. This turned out so beautiful! Love that wrinkle ribbon :)

    Like

  3. Ah love the sewing theme! Lovely styles!
    Enjoy your camp out, I go for nice air conditioning! But hey, I live in Florida!

    Like

  4. I love the vintage look and the colors you used on your card, Lindsay. The Sewing Bits and Bobs set makes me wish I had a Cricut. lol

    I hope you all are having a fun camp out. Have a fabulous birthday!!!
    Hugs!!!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,355 other followers

