Bright baby cards and invites!

Hello there! Today I thought I’d show you how you can make some baby cards that are cute as well as quick to make. Think of using one of these shaped designs the next time you need to make a card for a new parent or when hosting a baby shower. I used SVG die cuts from my Sweet Baby SVG set (I cut them with my electronic die cutter and SCAL software) but the kit also has printable templates too! These cards are easy on the wallet too, I made 12 shaped cards using 6 sheets of 12″x12″ cardstock, stamps and scraps of ribbon/trim.

The diaper cards are my favorite! I like how quick and simple they are. After I die cut all of my card templates I used round and scallop paper punches to punch shapes from any excess paper. Then I layered my punch outs on my card as shown. I stamped “cute as a button” (Pink Persimmon) on the circle them stamped one of the buttons from the kit on a 1″ circle of cardstock then I clued 5 1″ circles together with the stamped button on top to make the 3-D button. I used my heavy-duty Crop-a-Dial to punch out the button holes and tied a short ribbon through before gluing it on my card. A bit of organza ribbon threaded through the slots in the front of the card finishes it off nicely.

 Another thing I love about the diaper card is the liner. I simply cut a sheet of white cardstock in quarters, cut off the corners where the leg holes in the diaper are and used a scallop border punch along those edges and along the top. Then I slipped the lined in the diaper card and trimmed the top corners to fit. You can see how to trim a 8.5″x11″ sgheet of cardstock by looking at the following diagram:

The rattle cards were also quick to make, I was able to cut one diaper card and one rattle card on a 12″x12″ sheet, cutting both together saves paper. The rattle cards were stamped and layered much the same as the diaper card:

 

The onesie cards are a big hit! These always sell well at craft fairs so make a few extra. You can cut two from a 12″x12″ sheet of cardstock.

Here is a look at the Sweet Baby SVG set, only $3 from Lindsay’s stamp Stuff:

So the next time you need to make invitations to a baby shower or a card for a new mom skip the store and craft one instead! Thanks for stopping by and til next time happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,284 other followers

