Flying by…

Howdy folks! Don’t you just love it when you find a use for a moldy-oldie tool in your stash? I sure do. check out this birthday card I made for my mom, I used a leftover die-cut card, some old stamps and an old Fiskars wood grain texture plate to make the wooden window box:

We sometimes forget about these wonderful plastic texture {embossing} plates and our trusty brass templates for embossing now that the cuttlebug embossing folders are all the rage but these tools still work, and you don’t need a die cut machine to use them. Here is how to use a texture plate, simply tape your cardstock to the plate and rub over the paper with a stylus, bone folder or the Fiskars texture tool (shown in photo, it is $4)

I bought all of these texture plates a few years ago when they came out, you got 6 double-sided plates (12 textures in all) for about $10. Way cheaper them embossing folders! If you have a die cut machine you can use the plates in that too. Check out my Embossing with stencils and Texture Plates in your Die cut Machine tutorial here.

In case you are wondering what the card looks like open…

I used the “in the Garden” set of clear stamps from Oriental Trading Co. (I wanted these stamps since they came out so I finally bought them on sale a couple of months ago!) to stamp the gnome, the butterflies are retired Inque Boutique and the balloon is a SU! S-A-B set from a few years back that I seem to use all the time.  Yes folks, it’s OK to mix and match your stamp sets, I give you permission :) It is also OK to use stamps that are retired, they are not dairy products, they do not go bad :)

Thanks for stopping by! Why not sift through your craft stash and see what moldy-oldie product you can give life to again? You’ll feel so good that you put these older tools to use! Till next time Happy Crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,461 other followers

