Free Cherry Crochet Pattern

Well I’m still hooked {pun intended} on crochet! I was playing around with some embroidery floss and came up with this:

Red floss: DMC, Varegated green craft thread

Red floss: DMC, Varegated green craft thread

It is so easy to make. I start with the “magic ring” technique which is simply just wrapping the yarn around your finger, then crocheting strait into that rather than chaining stitches to form a ring, the best part is that you can pull the strings tight and have no hole in the middle!  Here is the pattern, I worked the cherries, stem and leaf separately but you can just change colors and work parts together if you like.

Crochet cherries pattern: Level: Easy

Wrap a loop of red yarn around your finger, slip it of and hold it where the string overlaps. Wrap a loop of yarn around the hook, slip it into the ring, wrap another loop around and hook it thought the first (it gets less awkward I promise :) Now make 10 single crochets into the ring, join to the first SC with a slip stitch and putt the end of the string tight.

second row: *Ch 1, SC in the next stitch, 2 SC in next stitch *repeat to end of round. Slip stitch to i stitch below at beginning of round (this give you the little “dent” at the top of the cherry. Make two cherries.

Stem (with green): Chain 17 (less if you want a shorter stem), turn work and single crochet into the next 4 stitches, chain 13.

Leaf (with green) : Chain 7, turn work and sc in 2nd stitch, half-double crochet in next stitch, double crochet in next stitch, HDC in next stitch, SC in next stitch. Turn (making the other side of leaf), ch 1, sc, hdc, cd, hdc, sc and slip in the final stitch to end leaf.

To finish I just tied the pieces together. This will go on a papercraft project but it would be cute on a hat or sweater too, in that case I’d probably just make the cherries and leaf then crochet the stem directly into my needlework.

Abbriveations: SC=single crochet, HDC=half-double crochet, DC=double crochet, SL=slip stitch, CH=chain stitch

I hope you find this pattern useful, it is my first stab at writing a crochet pattern ;)

Tommorrow I will show you what I am making with this, til then happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,963 other followers

