The Ultimate Card Showdown!!!

I couldn’t resist, I had to enter the 2 sketches 4 you ultimate card showdown (every time I hear that name I think of the monster truck show announcer “This Sunday, Sunday, SUNDAY it the Ultimate Card Showdown! Get your tickets, Kid’s seats are still $5!!!” what, is it only me?)  even though the competition is huge. The grand prize winner gets $500 worth of scrapping/stamping supplies including (what I am really in this for) a beautiful pink Bind it All!!! OK enough Jibber-Jabbering, here is my card:

Cardstock: SU!, PP: Autumn leaves, Basic Grey, Stamps: Hero Arts, Inkadinkado, Technique Tuesday, Rubber Stampede, Font: DB Boho Banner, Felt: Queen & Co, Other: Window screen, washers, ink

Cardstock: SU!, PP: Autumn leaves, Basic Grey, Stamps: Hero Arts, Inkadinkado, Technique Tuesday, Rubber Stampede, Font: DB Boho Banner, Felt: Queen & Co, Other: Window screen, washers, ink

Here in an uncluttered look at the card;)

Here in an uncluttered look at the card;)

The base is one sheet of SU! kraft paper folded in half. I score some decorative lines on the edge and inked it. I stamp the paisley and birthday definition on color gloss lazer paper. Tip: Gloss Lazer paper (from the office supply store, I used Hammermill color lazer gloss)  is great for detail stamping and a lot cheaper than glossy cardstock, you get 300 sheets for less then $10! then I sprinkled green, brown and gold powder on it to give it a patina look. I also stamped bolts down the side to up the “manly” factor and I “borrowed” some washers form hubby’s workshop and altered them with rust embossing powder. I added screw top eyelets to the flowers cut form map paper and the scallop boarder was cut from fiberglass window screening then painted brown and stapled on. I added a bit of die cut felt for texture and I made the transparency banner by printing a banner form the DB boho banner font onto a transparency and typed “happy birthday” on it before printing. Tip: I printed a whole sheet of banners while I was at it so I didn’t waste the transparency sheet, see:

DB boho banners font

DB boho banners font

Well, there you have it, I’ll let you know next week weather I made the top 30 or not;) Thanks for stopping by and till next time happy crafting!

21 Responses

  1. Great card!!

    Like

  2. I like your card it’s divine.

    Like

  3. Holy CROW dude – THIS IS AWESOME! I was going to enter, but now I don’t know if I should bother… I’m just speechless. Spectacular dude. I bow before your greatness.

    Like

  4. WOW! WOW! WOW! This is incredibly beautiful.

    Like

  5. This is beautiful!

    Like

  6. Great job with the stamping!! Such wonderful flowers! TFP!

    Like

  7. Wow – this is so cool!
    Thanks so much for taking part in the UCS

    Like

  8. I love reading all your hints and tips. Love the card and all the gorgeous details. Thanks for playing along with us this week. :) Kazan & Laura

    Like

  9. wow, this is awesome !!!

    Like

  10. Oh my gosh, Lindsay, this is unbelieveably creative–I am absolutely going to do the print-on-a-transparency thing–I have a ton of transparencies left over that I don’t use at school anymore…..

    Like

  11. Awesome…love this!

    Like

  12. Oh, I love the card you have made for this challenge!!

    Like

  13. Just stunning!

    Like

  14. Amazing card you created! Love the intro to this post! I will be hearing that man’s voice in my head all day repeating the Sunday! Sunday! Sunday! ;-) LOL! Good luck!

    Like

  15. This is absolutely amazing. Good Luck!!!

    Like

  16. This is a stunner, Lindsay!! Good luck on the showdown! I have my card finished, but won’t post it until tomorrow.

    Like

  17. Lindsay,

    This is a beautiful manly card! I’m hoping you win because you deserve it!

    Carmen

    Like

  18. gorgeous card! love the masculine feel!!

    Like

  19. very cute card! love the sentiment!

    Clouds :D

    Like

  20. Lindsay this is GORGEOUS!!! I love all the candy there is to gaze at with this card!!! I also wanted to THANK YOU for stopping by my blog!!!! I’m thrilled there were items there you can use!!! Have a very blessed day!!!

    Like

  21. WOW!! these are gorgeous!!! beautiful job!! I just love everything about them! all the elements balance and work so well together. TFS!

    Like

Tell me what YOU think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,064 other followers

