Oriental Stamp Art Bunny Challenge

I just joined a fantastic stamp community call Oriental Stamp Art and you guessed it, it is all about creating with Asian themed stamps. I decided I would jump (or Hop as the case may be) right into this challenge to make some Asian inspired art with a rabbit as the theme. Well, I did not have a rabbit stamp so I sketched one with a brush tip pen so it would have a “sumi-e” feel and made it into a digital stamp, actually I made 3 stamps but who’s counting!

Stamps: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff, PSX

Stamps: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff, PSX

I had a lot of fun with this. I used a technique called “Poppin Pastels” to add color to my image, here’s how: First I printed out a sheet of my bunny digi-stamps and trimmed the ones I wanted to use. Then I used some old clear stamps I had by PSX (love this set so much but unfortunately PSX went out of business but you can get similar Asian calligraphy stamps from stores like About Art Accents) I inked them with clear embossing ink and stamped randomly over my image. Then I dipped a pom-pom in chalk and dabbed it over the stamped image. The embossing ink grabs the color making the pattern that you stamped show up like magic!

Stamps: Lindsay's stamp Stuff, PSX

Stamps: Lindsay's stamp Stuff, PSX

I made a cute little money holder too. My friend Tracy showed me how to make these once, you seal a standard No. 10 envelope shut, fold it in half and snip off the ends making 2 pockets. Then just wrap it in a half a sheet (the long way) of cardstock. I used magnet strips that I got free from a sign shop to keep the flap closed.

Download the SVG file for the Chinese charecter charm below.

Download the SVG file for the Chinese charecter charm below.

The pockets in this money holder are made by folding an envelope in half.

The pockets in this money holder are made by folding an envelope in half.

The Chinese character that is on the charm and near the rabbit means (you guessed it) rabbit. I made an SVG file of the character and put a circle around it in SCAL software to cut the charm out using my cricut machine. You can download the Chinese symbol here. I used stained glass tape to wrap around the stamped panel for a bit of glitz. 2011 is the year of the rabbit and since Chinese people give away money on the new year I thought this project would be appropriate.

bunnyduo2

I had a lot of fun with this challenge, I hope you enjoyed it! Until next time happy crafting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,709 other followers

