A diffrent way to use a digi-stamp, watercolor tips and make your own bow-maker!

Boy do I love it when I find a new use for something I already have! I have a bunch of digi-stamps (heck, I make them!) and they are fun to print and color but how about using them as a painting pattern?

Orchid Digi Stamp: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff, Clear Stamps: Inkadinkado, Watercolor Paper: Arches, Ink SU!, Other: Ribbon

Orchid Digi-Stamp: Lindsay's Stamp Stuff, Clear Stamps: Inkadinkado, Watercolor Paper: Arches, Ink: SU!, Other: Ribbon

That is what I did here. I simple opened up a new document in word, went under insert, picture ans selected my Sketchy Orchid stamp (only $1 in the shop BTW) and sized it about 4″ wide and printed it. Then I used a piece of graphite transfer paper to transfer just the basic lines of the flower on to a piece of 6″x12″ watercolor paper folded in half. (if you don’t have transfer paper just rub pencil lead on the back of your printout, flip the paper over and trace, easy peasy) Then I used my M Graham & Co. watercolors (these are my favorite, I’ve used them exclusively for 8 years) to paint the flower. Total time: 1 hour including set up and embellishing!

Buy quality paint ans store it in a pallette like this and you will save lots of time and money!

Buy quality paint ans store it in a palette like this and you will save lots of time and money!

This is how I keep my paint, I buy it in tubes and squeeze it out into a large well palette and let it dry. The M Graham paints contain glycerin and honey so they never mold and they stay slightly moist between painting sessions. My paint is ready to go when I am and since I just take what I need out of the palette each time none goes to waste! When I am done I spray the center mixing area with water and wipe it with a paper towel or rag.

My fancy bow maker!

My fancy bow maker!

I wanted to make a fancy loopy bow for this card but I don’t have a bow maker so I grabbed two clothespins and a jar I had laying around and made one myself. You can adjust how big you want the loops to be by moving the clothespins further apart. Wrap the ribbon in a figure 8 around the pins then tie a short length of ribbon around all the ribbon between the pins, very easy and quick! Money saved: $10!

Thanks for stopping by! I hope you try your hand at water-coloring your next card, use one of my stamps as a pattern, don’t worry, I’ll never tell you didn’t draw it yourself ;) Til next time happy crafting and painting too!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,438 other followers

